Welcome to Cabo San Lucas Real Estate Sign in | Help

Cabo San Lucas Blog

This blog discusses Los Cabos real estate and other important news and happenings in Cabo.


Day Light's Savings in Cabo
If you are traveling to Mexico or already here in Los Cabos touring with Los Cabos Real Estate looking at the extensive inventory in all price ranges of Houses in Cabo; you might be confused as to what time it is. On the second Sunday of March Daylight Savings Time begins in most parts of the United States. This year Daylight Savings Time in the U.S. will begin at 2 a.m., Sunday, March 13th and end at 2 a.m., Sunday, November 6th. Mexico has a different schedule. The United States has changed its daylight saving schedule in recent times, but Mexico will stick with the same daylight saving time as planned, beginning at 2am on April 3, 2011. In Mexico, Daylight Saving Time is known as the horario de verano (summer schedule). It has been observed since 1996 throughout most of the country. Take note that the state of Sonora, as well as some remote villages do not change their clocks. When is Daylight Saving Time in Mexico? In most of Mexico daylight saving time begins at 2:00 a.m. local time on the first Sunday in April. On the last Sunday in October areas on daylight saving time fall back to Standard Time at 2:00 a.m. local time. Central Standard Time (CST) becomes Central Daylight Time (CDT), and so forth. The state of Sonora does not observe daylight saving time. During daylight saving time turn your clocks ahead one hour. At the end of daylight saving time turn your clocks back one hour. NEW! In 2010 ten Mexico municipalities which share a border with the United States will begin daylight saving time three weeks earlier on the second Sunday in March and end on the first Sunday in November. Previously all of Mexico, with the exception of the state of Sonora which does not observe daylight saving time, began and ended daylight saving time at the same time. The Congress of Mexico passed legislation in December 2009 which allowed these ten border cities to adopt a daylight saving time pattern consistent with the United States. The municipalities which are now permitted by law to observe daylight saving time consistent with the United States are: City, State Acuna, Coahuila Anahuac, Nuevo Leon Juarez, Chihuahua Matamoros, Tamaulipas Mexicali, Baja California Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas Ojinaga, Chihuahua Piedras Negras, Coahuila Reynosa, Tamaulipas Tijuana, Baja California The observation of daylight saving time for these ten municipalities will begin at 2:00 a.m. local time on the second Sunday in March. On the first Sunday in November these areas will return to Standard Time at 2:00 a.m. local time. This change in daylight saving time observance was requested by local governments and political leaders to help facilitate commerce with the United States. Industries such as transportation and banking were especially affected by the differences in daylight saving time. In some cases businesses had to open an hour early than usual to conduct business with US companies during the 3 weeks in March when the two countries were on different times. Some smaller towns and villages surrounding these ten municipalities may unofficially follow the extended daylight saving time pattern. Keep in mind that for the three weeks between March 13, 2011 and April 3, 2011, the U.S. and Los Cabos will be on different times within the same time zone. If you are staying in a hotel or renting one of the lovely Cabo Villas the second weekend of March, do not adjust your watches or clocks. The time here is the same as when you arrived in this place we call paradise.
Posted: Thursday, March 17, 2011 4:19 PM by Nick Fong


No Comments

Anonymous comments are disabled